KOKOS International home korean website email
- WA
- SA
- Intro
- History
- Branch
- Why Australia
- Australianv7/kokosletterkors Regions
- Major cities in Australia
- Why study in Australia
- TAFE/college
- Curtin University
- Murdoch University
- University of Western Australia
- Edith Cowan University
Education Providers CRICOS CODE: 00126G
Campus Location: Perth
Main Website: www.uwa.edu.au
International Student Website: www.international.uwa.edu.au

The University of Western Australia (UWA) was established by an Act of the Western Australian Parliament in February 1911, and began teaching students for the first time in 1913. It is the oldest university in the state of Western Australia and the only Western Australian university to belong to the Group of Eight – a coalition of the top research universities in Australia – and it is one of only two Australian universities to belong to the Worldwide Universities Network, a partnership of 16 research-led universities from Europe, North America, North Asia and Australia.

Sitting on the banks of the Swan River, the UWA Crawley Campus is the oldest in Western Australia and among the most picturesque in the nation with its grand sandstone and terracotta buildings sitting among elegant heritage-listed gardens.

UWA was established under and is governed by the University of Western Australia Act 1911. The Act provides for control and management by the universityv7/kokosletterkors Senate, and gives it the authority, amongst other things, to make statutes, regulations and by-laws, details of which are contained in the university Calendar.

One of Australiav7/kokosletterkors best and most prestigious universities, UWA is highly ranked internationally in various publications; the 2011 QS World University Rankings placed UWA at 73rd internationally. To date UWA has produced close to 100 Rhodes Scholars and a Nobel Prize winner. UWA recently joined the Matariki Network of Universities as the youngest member, the only one established during the 20th century.

The University consists of the 9 Faculties of:

• Architecture, Landscape and Visual Arts
• Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
• Business
• Education
• Engineering, Computing and Mathematics
• Law
• Life and Physical Sciences
• Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences
• Natural and Agricultural Sciences

UWA is strongly committed to internationalisation of all aspects of its activities. UWA has formal agreements with 44 international institutions, promoting staff and student exchanges, collaborative research and exchange of teaching materials and methods. The University also teaches several of its programmes offshore, in Singapore, Indonesia and the Philippines. Trans-national programmes facilitate the development of UWA as a genuinely international university.

UWA is also highly ranked according to the Melbourne Institute Index ranking of Australian universities. UWA has been ranked as having the highest quality undergraduates of any university in Australia. UWA is ranked second in Australia for the quality of its undergraduate programs. UWA is one of Australiav7/kokosletterkors leading research universities, ranked second for research in Australia (taking account of its size).

As Western Australiav7/kokosletterkors leading university, UWA was rated second overall in Australia by the Good Universities Guide 2011 based on key performance measures such as graduate starting salaries, employment prospects, staff qualifications, research intensity and student demand. UWA consistently ranks in the top 120 international universities and in the top 10-18 universities in the Asia-Pacific region.