KOKOS International home korean website email
- WA
- SA
- Intro
- History
- Branch
- Why Australia
- Australianv7/kokosletterkors Regions
- Major cities in Australia
- Why study in Australia
- TAFE/college
- Bond University
- Central Queensland University
- Griffith University
- University of the Sunshine Coast
- Queensland University of Technology
- University of Queensland
- University of Southern Queensland
Education Providers CRICOS CODE: 00025B
Campus Location: Brisbane
Main Website: www.uq.edu.au
International Student Website: www.uq.edu.au/international
The University of Queensland (UQ) is a public university located in state of Queensland of Australia. UQ is one of Australia¹s premier learning and research institutions. It is the oldest university in Queensland the fifth oldest in the Australia and has produced almost 197,000 graduates since opening in 1911. Its graduates have become leaders in all areas of society and industry. Today, UQ has almost 44,000 students who study across its four main campuses in southeast Queensland: St Lucia (main campus), Ipswich, Gatton and Herston.

UQ is one of the three Australian members of the global Universitas 21 alliance. This group aims to enhance the quality of university outcomes through international benchmarking and a joint venture e-learning project with The Thomson Corporation.

UQ is a founding member of the national Group of Eight (Go8) ¬ a coalition of leading Australian universities, intensive in research and comprehensive in general and professional education. Collectively, Group of Eight members account for 70 percent of all research income in Australiav7/kokosletterkors university system, enrol more than half of all higher degree by research students, hold over 90 percent of US patents for inventions and generate 80 percent of spin-off companies created by Australian universities. Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Paul Greenfield AO is chair of the Group of Eight.

UQ is a pacesetter in discovery and translational research across a broad spectrum of exciting disciplines, ranging from bioscience and nanotechnology to mining, engineering, social science and humanities.

Its eight internationally significant research institutes are drawcards for an ever-expanding community of scientists, researchers and commercialisation experts. UQ is noted for supporting early- and mid-career researchers, as seen in our commitment to research training; in 2010, UQ celebrated its 9000th PhD graduation. UQ currently has 4039 Research Higher Degree students, including 3593 PhD students. In 2010, 534 Research Higher Degrees were awarded.

UQ offers undergraduate and postgraduate programs that are informed by the latest research and delivered in state-of-the-art learning spaces. Its teachers have won more Australian Awards for University Teaching than any other Australian university.

Staff and students from more than 134 nations are valued in its multicultural community, which celebrates excellence in all aspects of scholarship.

According to the 2007 THE-QS World University Rankings, UQ is in the top 50 (ranked 33rd along with the National University of Singapore). In 2009, the university was ranked 41st, after University of Melbourne (36), University of Sydney (36) and Australian National University (17). In 2011, QS World University Rankings placed the university in 48th.

The Shanghai Jiao Tong Universityv7/kokosletterkors Academic Ranking of World Universities also placed UQ among the top 10 universities in the Asia Pacific Region. UQ was also featured in 2006 Newsweek and 2009 Global University Ranking of the worldv7/kokosletterkors top 100 universities.

The university has 6 faculties in turned divided into schools.

Faculty of Arts
• School of History, Philosophy, Religion and Classics
• School of Languages and Comparative Cultural Studies
• School of Music
• School of English, Media Studies and Art History

Faculty of Business, Economics and Law
• TC Beirne School of Law
• School of Business
• School of Economics
• School of Tourism

Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology
• School of Architecture
• School of Chemical Engineering
• School of Civil Engineering
• School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering
• School of Mechanical and Mining Engineering

Faculty of Health Sciences
• School of Dentistry
• School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
• School of Human Movement Studies
• School of Medicine
• School of Nursing and Midwifery
• School of Pharmacy
• School of Population Health

Faculty of Science
• School of Agriculture and Food Sciences
• School of Biological Sciences
• School of Biomedical Sciences
• School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
• School of Mathematics and Physics
• School of Earth Sciences
• School of Geography, Planning and Environmental Management
• School of Veterinary Science

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences
• School of Education
• School of Journalism and Communication
• School of Political Science and International Studies
• School of Psychology
• School of Social Science
• School of Social Work and Human Services