KOKOS International home korean website email
- Why Australia
- Australian's Regions
- Major cities in Australia
- Why study in Australia
- Intro
- History
- Branch
- WA
- SA
- TAFE/college

NSW is located in the east of Australia. The state capital is Sydney, which is also the state's most populous city. As of June 2010, the estimated population was 7,238,819, which was 34.5% of the population of Australia, making it Australia's most populous state.

Victoria is in the south-east of Australia. Geographically the smallest mainland state, Victoria is Australia's most densely populated state, and has a highly centralised population, with almost 75% of Victorians living in Melbourne, the state capital and largest city.

QLD is located in the north-east of Australia. To the east, Queensland is bordered by the Coral Sea and Pacific Ocean. The state is Australia's second largest by area, following Western Australia, and the country's third most populous after New South Wales and Victoria. The capital and largest city in the state is Brisbane. Queensland is often referred to as Australia's Sunshine State and tourist’s two favourite cities, Gold Coast and Cairns are also located in Queensland.

WA is occupying the entire western third of the Australian continent. WA is Australia's largest state and the second largest sub-national entity in the world. It has 2.3 million inhabitants (10% of the national total), 85% of whom live in the south-west corner of the state. Today WA's economy mainly relies on mining, agriculture and tourism. Its capital city is Perth which was founded in 1829 by Captain James Stirling as the political centre of the Swan River Colony.

SA is located in the southern central part of Australia. It covers some of the most arid parts of the continent; with a total land area of 983,482 square km, it is the fourth largest of Australia. With over 1.6 million people, the state comprises less than 8% of the Australian population and ranks fifth in population among the states and territories. The majority of its people reside in the state capital, Adelaide, with most of the remainder settled in fertile areas along the south-eastern coast and River Murray.

Tasmania, often called Tassie, is an Australian island located 240km south of the continent. The state includes the island of Tasmania, the 26th largest island in the world and the surrounding 334 islands. The state has a population of 507,626 (as of June 2010), of whom almost half reside in the greater Hobart, the capital city, precinct. Other major population centres include Launceston in the north.

NT is a federal territory, occupying much of the centre of the mainland continent, as well as the central northern regions. Despite its large area, the third largest Australian federal division, it is sparsely populated. With a population of 229,675 it is the least populous of Australia's eight major states and territories. The capital city is Darwin. Residents of the NT are often known simply as 'Territorians'.

ACT is the capital territory of the Commonwealth of Australia and is the smallest self-governing internal territory. It is enclaved within NSW and is regularly referred to as Australia's 'Bush Capital'.

Section 125 of the Australian Constitution provided that following Federation in 1901, land would be ceded freely to the new Federal Government. The territory was transferred to the Commonwealth by the state of NSW in 1911, two years prior to the naming of Canberra as the National Capital in 1913